Raspberry Cuttings

They were just little buds when I put them in their pots last week. Today they look like they’re nearly ready to go. They still need a bit more time to form strong roots, though.

My master plan is to put the rooted cuttings along the southern side of our backyard border, acting as a sort of mini fruit fence. It’ll also be near the southern edge of the Little Bee Garden circle.

Along with these, I’ll be transplanting the original raspberry bush and stray canes near the others as I have a gut feeling the space they’re in now will be out of use come summer – due to possible construction near the house. It’s good to be prepared.

If you’re thinking about making your own raspberry cuttings I definitely recommend you check out Katie’s post from The Garden Hoard blog. Lots of pictures and easy step-by-step tutorial. Thanks again, Katie!

Edit: Just want to make sure everyone sees this from the comments as it’s really good advice: “If your leaves start to fade or even fall off, it’s going to be OK! After the current ones die, new ones will form.”Katie from Garden Hoard

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’m so honored that you used my tutorial! If your leaves start to fade or even fall off, it’s going to be OK! After the current ones die, new ones will form. It takes a lot of patience, but it will be worth it! Good luck with your cuttings. Tell me when they start to form roots! That’s always the most exciting :)

    Reply

    • “If your leaves start to fade or even fall off, it’s going to be OK! After the current ones die, new ones will form.”

      Great advice here, thank you. If you hadn’t told me this and they did fall off I might think I had failed. I’ll put this up in the post to make sure others see it. And yes I’ll put in an update when they form some strong roots!

      Reply

  2. By the way, that photo looks really cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

